top of page

St Dominic’s Past Pupils Union

Screenshot 2023-12-05 at 13.28.17.png

Hello and welcome to St. Dominic's PPU. Our website has been designed to keep our members up to date with news and events.


The Past Pupils’ Union has created the Veritas Bursary and will make a limited amount of funding available annually for bursary awards. To be considered for a Veritas Bursary an applicant must be either a current or past pupil of St. Dominic’s High School.

Download the Veritas bursary application form.

Our Patron - Mary McAleese


Mary McAleese was educated at St. Dominic's High School, Belfast, between 1962 and 1969, and is Patron of St. Dominic's Past Pupils' Union. 

On 11 November 1997, Mary McAleese (née Lenaghan) was inaugurated as the eighth President of Ireland. President McAleese was re-elected, unopposed, on 1 October 2004. She is a Barrister-at-Law and former Professor of Law.

Born on 27 June 1951 in Belfast, Mary McAleese is the first President to come from Northern Ireland.  In 1976, she married Dr. Martin McAleese with whom she has three children.  

Mary Lenaghan graduated in Law from the Queen's University of Belfast and was called to the Northern Ireland Bar in 1974. In 1975, she was appointed Reid Professor of Criminal Law, Criminology and Penology at Trinity College, Dublin and, in 1987, returned to QUB on her appointment as Director of the Institute of Professional Legal Studies. In 1994, Professor McAleese became the first female Pro-Vice Chancellor at Queen's University, Belfast. 

She is an experienced broadcaster, having worked as a current affairs journalist and presenter in radio and television with Radio Telefís Éireann. She has a longstanding interest in many issues concerned with justice, equality, social inclusion, anti-sectarianism and reconciliation. 

The theme of her Presidency was Building Bridges.


Aims of St. Dominic's PPU

  • To foster a sense of community between the pupils and staff, past and present

  • To help promote a positive image of the School

  • To contribute to the life of the School

  • To promote a programme of events to cater for members' interests


Membership shall be open to past pupils and current and past members of staff at the School.

All members shall pay an annual subscription.


St Dominic's, founded in 1870 by the Dominican order, is a Catholic Grammar School for Girls and a learning community in which all members work together to meet the challenges of the 21st century in an atmosphere of trust and mutual respect. 

The stability provided by our Dominican tradition enables us to be a community dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in all its forms, the enhancement of human dignity and the realisation that at the heart of all human knowledge is divine truth. 

To this end, the gifts of all members are nurtured and their uniqueness as children of God are celebrated.



Carmel Hart


Anne Mallon


Geraldine McIlwee (Past President)

Committee Members:

Orla O’Neill (School Principal ex-officio)

Eleanor Alexander (Past President)

Monica Cummings

Marie-Therese Fleming

Angela Gormley

Marian Hamill

Eileen Lavery (Past President)

Teresa Maguire

Andrea Rainey

Denise Sisk (Past President)


Geraldine McIlwee (2019-2022)

Eleanor Alexander (2016-19)
Eileen Lavery (2014-16)
Roisin Connolly (2012-14)
Denise Sisk (2009-12)
Angelina Fusco (2007-09)
Elaine Sullivan (2005-07)
Claire Comerton (2003-05)
Mary Finnegan (2002-03)
Jackie D'Arcy (2000-02)

Events 2023-24

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!


To apply to join St. Dominic's PPU, please write to:    

Mrs Anne Mallon
14 Thornhill


enclosing a cheque for £10 (£5 for students) to cover your annual subscription, made payable to “St. Dominic's Past Pupils' Union”.

bottom of page